Principal Public Records Holdings

Goshomei Genpon

photo:Goshomei Genpon

Goshomei Gempon include the Constitution of the Empire of Japan (1889), the Constitution of Japan (promulgated 1946), Imperial Rescripts, laws, treaties, Imperial edicts, government orders and other original historical documents signed and sealed by the Emperor. These documents are securely preserved in the special repository, because these signed and sealed documents are especially important.

Dajo Ruiten

photo:Dajo Ruiten

The Dajo Ruiten consists of typically collected material compiled by the records section of the Dajokan, or Cabinet of the early Meiji (1868 -1912) government. It consists of fair copies of various regulations selected from cabinet diaries, daily journals, public records (Kobunroku), etc., and is classified into 19 categories dealing with such topics as systems, government organization, official rules, ceremonies, and so forth. The documents are arranged chronologically, starting in October of the third year of the Keio period (1867) and ending in the 14th year of the Meiji period (1881). As priceless material relating to early Meiji, this is in wide use among scholars of history



The Kobunroku are the official documents and records created or received by the Cabinet of the first 18 years of the Meiji period (1868 -1885). They are arranged chronologically and by ministries and agencies, and constitute the basic governmental records of early Meiji. They were designated as National Important Cultural Property of Japan in 1998.

Kobun Ruishu

photo:Kobun Ruishu

The Kobun Ruishu were first edited under the name "Dajo Ruiten ", but took their present name in 1882. Aside from some special categories, they are chronologically arranged and classified into 23 categories ranging from the system of government to foreign affairs. After 1886, they came to consist principally of the original documents of laws and regulations.

Kobun Zassan

photo:Kobun Zassan

The Kobun Zassan are those miscellaneous documents created or received by the Cabinet that are not part of the Kobun Ruishu. Dating from 1886 its contents are arranged chronologically and by ministries and agencies.

Naikaku Kobun

photo:Naikaku Kobun

Naikaku Kobun are official documents composed of the Constitution, Imperial rescripts, acts, Cabinet Orders, treaties, public notices, directives, Cabinet decisions, and other preserved documents related to the Cabinet (excluding personnel affairs) since 1955. Documents are classified following the Preserved Documents Classification Chart and are compiled according to their retention periods.


3-2 Kitanomaru Koen, Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo 102-0091

Copyright©2007 NATIONAL ARCHIVES OF JAPAN. All Rights Reserved.